Best answer: Who was England goalkeeper in 86?

Who were the England goalkeepers in the 86 World Cup?

England » Squad World Cup 1986 Mexico

14 Terry Fenwick Queens Park Rangers
5 Alvin Martin West Ham United
3 Kenny Sansom Arsenal FC
2 Gary Stevens Everton FC

Who was in the England squad in 86?

sub (CF) 86

No. Name Age Pos
1. Shilton, Peter L. 36 G
2. Stevens, M. Gary 23 RB
3. Sansom, Kenneth G. 27 LB
4. Hoddle, Glenn 28 M

Who was England’s goalkeeper in the 80s?

Statistically, Peter Shilton is the greatest England goalkeeper of all time with 125 caps and the most clean sheets by far. He appeared at three World Cup tournaments and was at the receiving end of the infamous “hand of god” goal by Diego Maradona in 1986.

Who was England captain in 1986?

Match of the Day host Gary Lineker was the England captain between 1990 and 1992. Alan Shearer captained England from 1996 to 2000.

Captains by appearances as captain.

# 33
Player Terry Butcher
England career 1980–1990
Caps as captain 7
First captaincy 12 November 1986

Who won the 1986 World Cup?

Who were the players in the 1966 World Cup?


  • Gordon. BANKS. Goalkeeper.
  • George. COHEN. Defender.
  • Ray. WILSON. Defender.
  • Nobby. STILES. Midfield.
  • Jack. CHARLTON. Defender.
  • Bobby. MOORE. Defender.
  • Alan. BALL. Midfield.
  • Jimmy. GREAVES. Forward.
IT IS INTERESTING:  Frequent question: How did India benefit from British colonialism?

How many times did Beckham captain England?

Bryan Robson, who led England 65 times, David Beckham, Wright and Moore are the only players to lead England more than 40 times.